Seven Great Sages

Seven Great Sages | Briefly About Seven Great Sages

The Seven Great Sages are the seven rishis who appear frequently in historic Hindu and Vedic texts.

Indeed, they are regarded as being vital figures in Hinduism. Their role is as mystic “seers” across time: past, present and future.

They are often depicted as the first yoga practitioners on Earth and are said to be great poets and possess wondrous yogic powers.

In Sanskrit, they are referred to as the Saptarishi (or Saptarsi). This term is derived from the root words, sapta, meaning “seven,” and rishi, meaning “sage” and/or “seer.”

The great Saptarishi are the seven greatest sages of the Vedic realm who have attained a semi-immortal status, that of an exceedingly long lifespan thanks to their yogic power and by the facility of their penance.

Who are the Seven Great Sages?

The names used for the Saptarishi change over time, depending upon the current yuga (era).

Currently, they are Kashyapa, Atri, Vashista, Vishvamitra, Gautama Maharishi, Jamadagni and Bharadvaja.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More