Agni Purana

Agni Purana | What is Agni Purana?

The Agni Purana is a mahapurana. It is usually mentioned as eighth in the list of eighteen Puranas.

There are about fifteen and a half thousand shlokas in the Agni Purana.

The Agni Purana is one of the encyclopedias of the Vedas. In addition to being divided into parts, this part also consists of topics of diverse nature.

Agni related the subject matter of the Purana to the sage Vashishtha, who in turn, passed on the knowledge to Vyasadeva who compiled it. Vyasadeva’s disciple Suta learnt the Purana from his teacher.

As to the date of this Purana, nothing can be said with certainty. It is a compilation of various works written in different periods, no single date can be assigned to the Purana as a whole.

Read the summary of Agni Purana in English below:

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More