Bhagavata Purana

Bhagavata Purana | What is Bhagavata Purana?

Srimad Bhagavatam popularly known as Bhāgavata Purāṇa, is one of the 18 Mahapuranas of Hinduism.

Śrīmad Bhāgavatam is a voluminous 5th mahāpurāṇa consisting of 18,000 ślokas divided into 335 chapters and 12 skandhas, that describe 10 topics.

These topics are sarga (primary creation of the universe by the Lord), visarga (secondary creation by Brahmā and his sons), sthānam (universal cosmology), poṣaṇam (protection by the Lord), ūti (inclination to act),

Manvantara (reign of the fathers of mankind), īśānukatha  (the stories of the Lord and His devotees), nirodha (destruction of the universe), mukti (liberation) and āśraya (the supreme shelter of Lord Kṛṣṇa)

These skandhas in the Bhagavata Purana present essential guidelines for the spiritual well-being of humanity.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More