Malaya | Briefly About Malaya

Malaya, also known as the Malayan Peninsula, is a region located in Southeast Asia. It encompasses the southern part of the Malay Peninsula, which is shared by Malaysia and Thailand.

However, the term “Malaya” is primarily associated with the historical context.

Historically, Malaya referred to the British colonial administration of the Malay Peninsula from the late 19th century until the formation of the Federation of Malaya in 1948.

During this period, Malaya was under British rule and was considered a separate entity from the rest of the British colonies in Southeast Asia.

Following the independence of Malaya in 1957, the country went on to form the Federation of Malaysia in 1963 by merging with Singapore, Sabah, and Sarawak.

However, Singapore later separated from Malaysia in 1965 and became an independent nation.

Today, the region that was formerly known as Malaya is part of Malaysia. It includes the states of Peninsular Malaysia, such as Selangor, Perak, Johor, and others.

The term “Malaya” is not commonly used in contemporary usage, as it primarily refers to the historical context of British colonial rule.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More