World Heritage Railway

Briefly About World Heritage Railway

Securing a coveted place on UNESCO’s World Heritage Railway List is just one of many ways in which countries stage their identity.

Railways have long been a component of successful World Heritage applications. In 1986, Britain made its very first successful application to UNESCO and Ironbridge Gorge in Shropshire was inscribed on UNESCO’s List.

The Mountain Railways of India comprising of three magnificent rail routes from different parts of the country offer an unparalleled experience of traditional train journeys.

These railways got into the Unesco World Heritage Railway sites due to their historic significance and iconic infrastructure.

UNESCO’s World Heritage mission encourages the protection and preservation of natural and cultural heritage throughout the world, that is of outstanding value to humanity.

Which railways in India are UNESCO World Heritage Site?

Indian Railways owns four UNESCO awarded World Heritage Sites:

  • Darjeeling Himalayan Railway (1999),
  • Nilgiri Mountain Railway (2005),
  • Kalka Shimla Railway (2008) and
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Mumbai (2004).
  • Byculla Station, Mumbai (2023)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More