Krita Yuga

What is Krita Yuga? Also known as Satya Yuga

Hindu texts describe four yugas (world ages)⁠ in a Yuga Cycle, where, starting in order from the first age of Krita (Satya) Yuga, each yuga’s length decreases by one-fourth (25%), giving proportions of 4:3:2:1.

Each yuga is described as having a main period (a.k.a. yuga proper) preceded by its yuga-sandhyā (dawn) and followed by its yuga-sandhyāṃśa (dusk)⁠, where each twilight (dawn/dusk) lasts for one-tenth (10%) of its main period.

Lengths are given in divine years (years of the gods), each lasting for 360 solar (human) years.

Satya Yuga (a.k.a. Krita Yuga), in Hinduism, is the first and best of the four yugas (world ages) in a Yuga Cycle, preceded by Kali Yuga of the previous cycle and followed by Treta Yuga.

Krita Yuga (Satya Yuga) is known as the age of truth, when humanity is governed by gods, and every manifestation or work is close to the purest ideal and humanity will allow intrinsic goodness to rule supreme.

It is sometimes referred to as the “Golden Age”. The god Dharma (depicted in the form of a bull), which symbolises morality, stood on all four legs during this period. The legs of Dharma reduce by one in each yuga that follows.

What will be the duration & structure of Krita Yuga?

Krita Yuga, the first age in a cycle, lasts for 1,728,000 years (4,800 divine years), where its main period lasts for 1,440,000 years (4,000 divine years) and its two twilights each lasts for 144,000 years (400 divine years).

The current cycle’s Krita Yuga has the following dates based on Kali Yuga, the fourth and present age, starting in 3102 BCE.

Krita Yuga Also Known As Satya Yuga

Krita yuga also known as satya yuga

What are the characteristics of Krita Yuga?

Satya Yuga, also known as the Golden Age, is the first of four ages in Hindu cosmology. It is believed to be a time of great harmony and peace.

During Satya Yuga, people are said to possess high moral values and live virtuous lives. There is no crime or suffering, and everyone treats each other with kindness and respect.

In this age, people have a deep connection with nature and live in perfect harmony with the environment.

They have a strong sense of spirituality and spend their time meditating and seeking enlightenment. The world is filled with abundance, and there is no scarcity or poverty.

Satya Yuga is considered to be an ideal time when humanity reaches its highest potential both spiritually and morally.

However, as time progresses, the subsequent ages – Treta Yuga, Dwapara Yuga, and Kali Yuga – gradually bring about a decline in these virtues.

It’s important to remember that these yugas are part of Hindu mythology and are symbolic representations of different stages in human history rather than literal periods of time.

Nonetheless, they serve as reminders for us to strive towards living virtuously and creating a harmonious society even in our present age.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More