Saura Purana

Saura Purana | What is the Saura Purana?

The Saura Purana (Sanskrit: सौर पुराण, Saura Purāņa) is one of the Shaiva Upapuranas, a genre of Hindu religious texts.

What is the structure of Saura Purana?

The printed editions of this text have 69 chapters (adhyāyas).

The extant Saura Purana describes itself as a supplement (khila) to the Brahma Purana which consists of two Samhitas with the first being dictated by Sanatkumara and the second by Surya to Vaivasvata Manu.

What does Saura Purana preach?

The extant Saura Purana, though proclaimed by Surya, eulogises Shiva and his Shakti Parvati.

This text praises Varanasi and describes its various sacred places and lingas. It consists of a version of the narrative of Urvasi and Pururavas in chapter 31.

It also deals with Devi worship, merits of dānas (donations), vratas (vows) and brief descriptions of the Puranas.

Chapters 38-40 contain attacks on Madhvacharya, an early medieval philosopher and his works in the form of a prophecy.

In Chapter 61 the gods invoke Agni’ in a very beautiful stuti (or praise).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More